About us

"Making people and research fit for the future"

Our approach is to enable departments and faculties across the University and Rhineland-Palatinate to use our HPC cluster for their researches.

Since the end of 2021, JGU has been part of the transnational consortium NHR Southwest. In addition to Mainz, the consortium includes the University of Kaiserslautern-Landau (RPTU), the Goethe University Frankfurt, and the University of the Saarland. The National High Performance Computing Association (NHR) provides computing capacity and strengthens methodological competence through coordinated education and training of users and young scientists. Learn more https://hpc-en.uni-mainz.de/nhr-south-west/

As a full member of the German Gauss Alliance the HPC team supports scientific computing by operating the high-performance computers MOGON I and MOGON II, and also by providing computational scientists for the departments of computer science, chemistry, physics and life science, who support our users concerning all questions about high-performance computing (HPC) and the optimization of HPC applications. Scientific contributions concerning the subjects of HPC and storage systems are developed by the research group Efficient Computing and Storage in various projects sponsored by the DFG, the BMBF, industry or the EU, together with our partners worldwide.

For us SERVICE is not just a buzzword

With our continuously support and training we help national and international researchers to answer complex scientific questions. More than 650 usersbenefit from the use of the HPC and our specialist knowledge and services.


Ticket Hotline: hpc@uni-mainz.de


Andreas Henkel, Dr. rer. nat.
Room: 1341 / 00 345
Phone: +49 6131 39-26434

Lead High-Performance Computing

Severin Hasselbach
Room: 1341 / 00 341

Maicon Hieronymus Physics
Christian Meesters, Dr. rer. nat.
Room: 1341 / 00 341
Phone: +49 6131 39 26397
Biology, Medicine
Jens Rutten
Room: 1341 / 00 341

Felix Schlapp
Room: 1341 / 00 341

Nikita Tretyakov, Dr. rer. nat.
Room: 1341 / 00 333
Phone: +49 6131 39 27806
Physics, MD
Dalibor Djukanovic, Dr. rer. nat.
Helmholtz Institute Mainz
Room: 03-121
Phone: +49 6131 39 29604


Markus Tacke, Dipl.-Math.
Room: 1341 / 00 345
Phone: +49 6131 39-26327

Lead Infrastructure

Jens Ahrens, Dr. rer. nat.
Room: 1341 / 00 337
Phone: +49 6131 39-26331
Sergey Noskov, Dr. rer. nat.
Room: 1341 / 00 337
Phone: +49 6131 39-26370
Jörg Steinkamp, Dr. rer. nat.
Room: 1341 / 00 341